Sunrisers Hyderabad

Many of us are hardcore fans of IPL and the excitement of watching the match keeps us glued to our television. IPL is now entering its 10th season and till date around 500 matches have been played in the entire tournament and are geared up to overcome many more milestones. Everybody is a supporter of some or the other team, but, here in this article we will discuss some of the most interesting facts about Sunrises Hyderabad (SRH).

Sunrisers Hyderabad
Sunrisers Hyderabad

11 Amazing and Lesser Known Facts About Sunrisers Hyderabad

1. Winning Team: Sunrisers Hyderabad won the IPL match for the first time after beating Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2016.

2. Replacement: They replaced the Deccan Chargers in 2012 which was terminated because of extreme financial issues.

3. Two IPL Champions: Hyderabad is the only city which produced two IPL champions, the first in 2009 when Deccan Charges won the tournament and the second is SRH in 2016.

4. Defeated Same Team: Both the time when the city based franchise (Hyderabad) won the trophy, it was the same team whom they defeated in the finals, which is the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

5. Team in 2017: In 2017, there are 22 Indian players and 9 International players in Sunrisers Hyderabad team. The chosen captain is David Warner and Shikhar Dhawan as the Vice Captain coached by Tom Moody.

6. Record Score: David Warner is one batsman who succeeded in scoring 90+ runs for the maximum times in the IPL, and is the 4th batsman to hit 700+ runs in an IPL season.

7. Early History: SRH was founded in 2013 that earlier used to play only in their home ground at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad. They entered the league when they were replaced with the Deccan Chargers which was put for sale in 2012, but due to failure in building buyers, their contract was terminated. Later, Kalanithi Maran, the media baron of Sun TV Network, bought the franchise and named it Sunrisers Hyderabad.

8. Earlier Owner: The earlier owner of Deccan Chargers was Deccan Chronicle Holdings Limited, who succeeded in winning the league victoriously in 2009 under the captaincy of Adam Gilchrist.

9. Previous Captains: Before David Warner, Sunrisers Hyderabad team was headed by 4 previous captains, Cameron White, Shikhar Dhawan, Darren Sammy and Sri Lankan Kumar Sangakkara.

10. Highest Bid: The highest bid was made for Yuvraj Singh, an all rounder player, who was brought for Rs. 7 crores in IPL 2016.

11. Individual Success: SRH is the only team which wins the tournament based on individual performances, and bares no superstars in their team.

These were some of the few facts about Sunrisers Hyderabad, which most of us did not really know.

Read Also: Interesting and Amazing Facts About Gujarat Lions IPL Team

Article Title: 11 Amazing and Lesser Known Facts About Sunrisers Hyderabad
Article first published on February 13, 2017.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *